Mac winners announced

By Sean McCaffery, January 7, 2018

United Soccer Coaches via the votes of NCAA coaches have awarded the National Player of the Year awards, a 10 pound crystal ball awarded since 1967. Jon Bakero became the second straight player from Wake Forest to win the award, following fellow Deamon Dacon and current member of the DC United Ian Harkes. On the women's side of the ball, National Champions Standford had their midfielder, Andi Sullivan get the nod. 

Bakero with 16 goals and 14 assists served as the captain and was #1 in the nation in socring, #2 in school history and it's leader since 1983. This ACC Player of the Year tallied a total of 37 goals and 26 assists. The runners up were from Stanford, Tomas Hillard-Arce and out of Indiana Universtiy Grant Hillard.

Sullivan of #1 Standford had a goal in the NCAA Div 1 final was the PAC 12 Midfielder of the Year and 3x NCAA All-American recovered from a 2016 ACL tear. With 7 appearences for the USWNT finished her collegiate career with 20 goals and 18 assists. Her runners up were, from UCLA Jessie Fleming and out of Univ. of South Carolina Savannah McCaskill. 

Jon now heads off to the MLS Combine and Andi to the USWNT camp in Calif.